in

Dropbox folder has been moved › jojo Reviews

The cloud storage provider Dropbox has started offering users of its Mac application the ability to move the Dropbox storage folder, thereby implementing Apple’s new system specifications, which now make it essential to use the previous save location, especially when using macOS Ventura. to change.

Dropbox draws attention to moving the storage folder with a menu bar notification and then walks the user through the step-by-step procedure, removing the storage folder from the folder ~/Library/Dropbox in the new folder ~/Library/CloudStorage/Dropbox is postponed.

With the switch, Dropbox folders can no longer be stored on an external drive. Additionally, Dropbox repositions itself in the Finder sidebar. In the future, instead of showing up in the “Favorites” area as before, Dropbox will appear in the “Places” area in the future, where macOS also shows network drives, servers, and shared folders.

30 minutes

Only available online or offline

As for synchronization, Dropbox on macOS Ventura distinguishes between the two options “Online Only” and “Make Available Offline” – an option now presented in the context menu of Dropbox files and letting users choose whether the files stored in the personal Dropbox and folders should also take up storage space on your own Mac and be always ready to be opened, or should only be loaded when needed.

Place Dropbox

Therefore, files with the status “Only Online” can only be opened with an active Internet connection.

Dropbox itself discusses the new sync folder handling in the help article “Frequently asked questions about Dropbox support for macOS,” which you can read here.

What do you think?

Written by Kim Anderson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

    Federighi and Joswiak in the panel discussion › jojo Reviews

    More uploads to compensate for price increase › jojo Reviews